deals of the year CHAIRMAN'S INTRODUCTION



Proudly supported by

Lloyds TSB | Corporate Markets

Congratulations!



JONATHAN SLADE, CHAIRMAN OF OUR DEALS OF THE YEAR PANEL OF JUDGES, INTRODUCES THIS YEAR'S WINNERS AND HIGHLY COMMENDED.

ongratulations to the winners and highly commended runners-up in this year's Deals of the Year Awards and to the Teams of the Year. In the 11th year of these awards, the quality of entrants continues to be of the highest standard. After a successful inauguration the Teams of the Year Awards have now been split into two categories to allow for broader participation.

The winners can take great satisfaction in the recognition of their achievements by their treasury peers. Award-winning deals should be seen as all the more impressive given the extraordinary events and volatile market conditions that were a feature throughout the year and which followed the challenges in the second half of 2007.

These are the only treasury awards where the winners are judged by fellow practitioners who know what it is like to have to go out and actually do the deal. Treasury professionals involved in the winning transactions should feel proud to have played such a leading role in

these outstanding deals which, as in previous years, are a credit to the profession. Similarly, those who belong to the teams of the year are being recognised for their considerable enduring contribution to their companies.

My thanks go to all those treasurers and bankers who nominated their deals and to my hard-working fellow judges. I would particularly like to thank Lloyds TSB Corporate Markets for its continuing support of the awards.

Those who have followed these awards over the years will know that they continue to innovate and change, and this year is no exception as they continue to raise the profile of the work of treasury professionals

Jonathan Slade is director, capital markets and corporate finance, group treasury, at Diageo.

CATEGORY	WINNER	HIGHLY COMMENDED
Overall	InBev	
Bonds	FirstGroup	GlaxoSmithKline
Corporate Finance	Fresenius	International Power
Liability Management	BAA	Barratt Developments
Loans: UK and Continental Mid-market Corporates (Deal size < £750m)	Invensys	Coats
Loans: UK Larger Corporates (Deal size > £750m)	The Co-operative	Anglo American
Loans: Continental European Corporates (Deal size > £750m)	InBev	Nestlé
Treasury Team of the Year (Market cap above £2bn)	Imperial Tobacco	The Co-operative
Treasury Team of the Year (Market cap below £2bn)	Invensys	Inchcape

THE DEALS OF THE YEAR AWARDS PANEL

The Deals of the Year Awards panel comprises a distinguished group of experts from across the spectrum of corporate finance and funding. The members of the panel are:

- Jonathan Slade, Diageo (chair)
- Francis Burkitt, NM Rothschild & Sons
- Mary Finn, Burton Foods
- Ian Fitzgerald, Lloyds TSB
- Lesley Flowerdew, WS Atkins
- Sean Hanafin, Citi
- Peter Matza, ACT Head of Publishing
- Nick Mourant, Tesco
- Neill Thomas, KPMG Corporate Finance
- Paul Watters, Standard & Poor's
- Graham Wood formerly F ON
- Henryk Wuppermann, E.ON