

Proudly supported by

Lloyds TSB | Corporate Markets

## Success. recognised

he success of the treasury profession was recognised at a dinner to mark the winners and the highly commended in the 2008 Deal of the Year Awards and the Treasury Teams of the Year.

Guests were welcomed to the ceremony, which was held at One Whitehall Place in Central London, by Stuart Siddall, the chief executive of the ACT and Richard Dakin, managing director for major corporates at Lloyds TSB, the supporter of the Awards.

Despite the snow-bound conditions there was a good turnout of treasurers and bankers from all over Europe. After the welcome the winners were announced by Jonathan Slade, the chairman of the Deals of the Year panel of judges and director of capital markets and corporate finance for group treasury at Diageo.

For more details, see The Treasurer, February 2009, page 22 or www.treasurers.org/awards.



Andre van der Toorn , director for global funding and treasury operations at AB InBev, holds the overall winner's certificate and a product placement.



Karl Fenlon and Steve Hare, treasurer and CFO respectively at Invensys, holding their certificates. The double winners – Invensys took the Awards for mid-market loans and Team of the Year – are congratulated by Claire Carter, Richard Dakin of Lloyds TSB, and Jonathan Slade.



Jonathan Slade, chairman of the Deals of the Year panel, sets the scene.



Stuart Siddall, the chief executive of the ACT, welcomes guests to the Awards.



Richard Dakin, managing director for major corporates at Lloyds TSB, sets out the market challenges.



First Group treasurer Ian Weldon picks up his award for winning the bonds category.



Stephan Sturm, CFO of Fresenius, picks up the corporate finance award.



José Leo, CFO of BAA, collects the award for liability management.



Roger Morgan, group treasurer for the Co-operative Group, picks up the award for UK large loans.



Peter Matza, ACT head of publishing, picks up the Treasury Team of the Year Award for large corporates on behalf of Imperial Tobacco.



The Deals of the Year judging panel, left to right: Paul Watters, Mary Finn, Henryk Wuppermann, Jonathan Slade, Graham Wood, Peter Matza, Lesley Flowerdew and Ian Fitzgerald. Judges not in picture: Francis Burkitt, Sean Hanafin, Nick Mourant and Neill Thomas.



In full swing: Deals of the Year 2008 ceremony under way at One Whitehall Place, part of The Royal Horseguards hotel, on the banks of the Thames.