

Proudly supported by



The winners' show

THE CULMINATION OF THE DEALS OF THE YEAR AWARDS WAS A DINNER LAST MONTH THAT HONOURED THE WINNERS AND THE HIGHLY COMMENDED IN WHAT WAS A TUMULTUOUS YEAR ON THE CAPITAL MARKETS.

reasury professionals were recognised at a dinner held last month to congratulate the winners and the highly commended in the ACT's Deals of the Year Awards and Treasury Teams of the Year Award.

Guests were welcomed to the ceremony, which was held at One Whitehall Place in central London, by Stuart Siddall, chief executive of the ACT, and Stephen Winningham, managing director, major corporates, at Lloyds Banking Group.

As in previous years, the evening proved highly successful, with an excellent turnout of treasurers and bankers from across Europe. Jonathan Slade, global head of corporate finance for Rio Tinto and chairman of the Deals of the Year panel of judges, announced the winners and welcomed them to the stage to receive their awards.

For more details on the winning deals and the highly commended deals, see the February 2010 issue of The Treasurer, or go to www.treasurers.org/awards



The Deals of the Year ceremony taking place at One Whitehall Place in London.

Cable & Wireless treasury director Roger Burge and treasury team Carol Power (left) and Eileen Tindall (right) celebrate the award for overall winner as well as taking the corporate finance category.



Stephen Winningham reflects on conditions in the capital markets in 2009.



Stuart Siddall, the chief executive of the ACT, welcomes guests to the awards night.



Jonathan Slade, chairman of the Deals of the Year panel, announces the winners.



Stephan Bohner, Hoffmann-La Roche head of financing and markets, collected the bonds category award.



ITV was mid-cap team of the year; pictured here is the company's director of treasury Charles van der Welle.



Group treasurer Mark Morris of Rolls-Royce heads up the winner of large treasury team of the year.



Alex Hall, group treasurer of ABB, gained the top spot in the European large loans category.



Carol Gee, director of finance at Marstons, collected the Deal of the Year prize for mid-tier loans.



Gong gurus (left to right): Paul Watters, Henryk Wuppermann, Mary Finn, Jonathan Slade, Lesley Flowerdew, Francis Burkitt, Ian Fitzgerald and Sean Hanafin. Also on the Deals of the Year judging panel but not pictured here were Peter Matza and Neill Thomas.



Winners' parade: Andrew Geczy, CEO of wholesale markets, and Diana Brightmore-Armour, CEO of corporate, both of Lloyds Banking Group (and standing on the far left), congratulate the winners of the Deals of the Year Awards.