



Picking up the prizes

THE WINNERS AND HIGHLY COMMENDED IN THE ACT'S DEALS OF THE YEAR AWARDS WERE HONOURED AT A DINNER LAST MONTH FOLLOWING YET ANOTHER VOLATILE YEAR FOR EVERYONE INVOLVED IN THE CAPITAL MARKETS.

he 13th year of the ACT's Deals of the Year Awards recognised the achievements of corporate treasurers in successfully managing the debt and equity markets on behalf of their companies in 2010.

Once again supported by Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets, the Awards celebrate excellence in corporate treasury. All types of deals, including bonds, loans, liability management and equity raising, are eligible from corporates across Europe. The Awards honour the winners and highly commended for their sound treasury management in the form of efficient pricing, innovative structures or success in prevailing market conditions.

Nearly 150 guests were welcomed to One Whitehall Place in London by Stuart Siddall, ACT chief executive. The backdrop to the year was painted by Duncan Bailey, managing director and sector head consumer industries at Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets. Chair of the judges Lesley Flowerdew thanked her fellow judges for their hard work in finding the winners and highly commended. After an overview of market conditions, she announced who had won and why, and welcomed them onto the stage to collect their certificates. Duncan Bailey and Diana Brightmore-Armour from Lloyds Banking Group joined her on stage to present the winners with their certificates.

As Brightmore-Armour noted, following a busy January, which saw large deals in the bond and hybrid markets, 2011 promises to be an interesting year.

For details of the winners and highly commended, see page 11 of the February issue of The Treasurer or visit **www.treasurers.org/awards**

■ JP Morgan was joint bookrunner and joint mandated lead arranger on the Babcock deal rather than just mandated lead arranger as we originally stated.



Winners BHP Billiton, Thomas Cook, Babcock International, Telecity, Essar Energy, Heidelberg Cement and Merck with their certificates



Duncan Bailey, managing director and sector head consumer industries at Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets, reflects on market conditions

Stuart Siddall, ACT chief executive, welcomes guests to the Awards evening

Lesley Flowerdew, chair of the Awards panel and tax and treasury director of corporate services at Atkins, announces the winners



Guests from the treasurer and banking community networked at the Awards evening at iconic London landmark One Whitehall Place



Liability management winner Francisco Melia Fullana of OHL, with Lesley Flowerdew and Duncan Bailey

The judges (left to right): Paul Watters, Richard Sedlacek, Jonathan Slade, Lesley Flowerdew, Henryk Wupperman, Peter Matza, Charles van der Welle, Ian Fitzgerald, Mary Finn. Not pictured, Neill Thomas and Alex Hall

Guests shared a three-course meal before moving on to the main event – presentation of the Awards