deals of the year 2007



Proudly supported by Lloyds TSB | Corporate Markets

## Treasurers celebrate

reasurers were rewarded for innovative and groundbreaking deals at *The Treasurer*'s Deals of the Year Awards 2007 dinner in London. At Drapers' Hall in central London, high-flyers celebrated amid the splendour of a superbly extravagant hall in an evening of excitement and anticipation. It was the first year that the ceremony was an evening affair rather than a lunch, and it was a huge success.

Guests were welcomed by speaker Diana Brightmore-Armour, Lloyds TSB Corporate Markets, which sponsored the event. Matthew Hurn, Chairman of the Deals of the Year panel, presented and introduced each category. The Deals of the Year Awards are well respected in the treasury profession and highlight contemporary and innovative deal structures in a range of categories. This year's categories included Equity and Equity-Linked, Bonds, Corporate Structured Finance and Loans as well as Treasury Team of the Year.

The Awards judges looked for evidence of sound treasury management, execution and innovative ideas when choosing winners in each category.

You can find out more background on the Awards process by going to our website at:

www.treasurers.org/thetreasurer/awards.cfm



The proud winners with their awards at the elegant Drapers' Hall, along with Diana Brightmore-Armour, Lloyds TSB Corporate Markets, and Malcolm Cooper, President of the ACT. From left to right: Tony Harrison (Cookson), Gerry Bacon (Vodafone), Craig Smith (MCG), Diana Brightmore-Armour, Jon Drown (Rexam), Malcolm Cooper, Andrew Cunningham (Grainger) and Nick Mourant (Tesco).



Rexam was overall winner of Deals of the Year as well as the Corporate Structured Finance Award. Malcolm Cooper and Diana Brightmore-Armour congratulate Rexam Group Treasurer Jon Drown. Gerry Bacon, Group Treasurer and CFO of Vodafone, picked up the award for the new category of Treasury Team of the Year.



Nick Mourant, Group Treasurer of Tesco, picks up an award for winning the Bonds category. The Loans: Continental European Corporates Award goes to Thomas Ladage, Continental's

Head of Group Finance.

Craig Smith, Group FD of Management Consulting Group, picks up the award for Loans: UK Mid-Market Corporates. Tony Harrison, Group Treasurer of Cookson, takes the award for Loans: UK Larger Corporates.

Grainger FD Andrew Cunningham collects the award for the Equity and Equity-Linked category.



The Deals of the Year judging panel: (left to right) Francis Burkitt, Paul Watters, Ian Fitzgerald, Jono Slade, Matthew Hurn (Chair), Graham Wood, Lesley Flowerdew, Nick Mourant, Andrew Foulkes, Simon Collins, Henryk Wuppermann, Peter Matza and Sean Hanafin.

Guests sit down for a meal in the magnificent Drapers' Hall before the awards ceremony begins.