Our structure

Council is the governing body of the ACT. It is ultimately responsible for the stewardship and management of the ACT’s affairs and accountable to the members. Day-to-day management is delegated to the Chief Executive and, through them to the Executive team.

Council consists of up to nine elected members who serve a three-year term, four Officers – President, Deputy President, Vice President and Immediate Past President – and the Chief Executive. The normal succession route for Officers is Vice President, Deputy President, President and finally, Immediate Past President with each post lasting one year.

For further information about Council and its committees please contact Ria Robinson rrobinson@treasurers.org

Chief Executive


Caroline Stockmann
Chief Executive

Council members for the term commencing 1 May 2017


Peter Goshawk new

Peter Goshawk FCT

Ian Chisolm

Ian Chisholm FCT
Deputy President
Vice President, Corporate Finance, Group Treasury, BHP Billiton


Agnes Favillier AMCT
Vice President and Chair of Future Leaders in Treasury

Fiona Crisp

Fiona Crisp FCT
Immediate Past President
Treasury Risk Leader, Huawei

Elected members

Kerry Attwell Thomas

Kerry Attwell Thomas FCT

David Brent

David Brent FCT

Charlotte Morgan

Charlotte Morgan AMCT
Non-Executive Director, FCE Bank (Ford Credit)

Dino Nicolaides

Constantinos (Dino) Nicolaides AMCT

Joe Peka

Joseph Peka AMCT
Deputy Treasurer, Urenco

Paul Reynolds

Paul Reynolds Hon FCT
Director of Investment and Business Development, Africa, Inchcape

Neil Wadey

Neil Wadey FCT
Group Treasurer, British American Tobacco

Peter Walker-Smith

Peter Walker-Smith FCT
Senior Treasury Manager, Walgreens Boots Alliance

Paul Wilde 2

Paul Wilde FCT
Treasurer, Shawbrook Group

Co-opted members


Rob Alexander
Partner, Brunswick Group LLP

Committee chairs (attend Council meetings)

Matthew Hurn

Matthew Hurn FCT
Chief Financial Officer, Alternative Investments and Infrastructure, Mubadala Investment Company
ACT Middle East Committee

Alison Stevens

Alison Stevens FCT
Deputy Group Treasurer, Phoenix Group
Chair: Policy & Technical Committee

Committees and Forums

The Council is supported by a number of voluntary committees and forums:

  • Membership Development
  • Policy and Technical

Each committee has a chairman who works closely with the appropriate department in the central office.

Advisory Panel

The ACT Advisory Panel adds value to the ACT by giving of its experience and insight to enhance the strategic thinking of the organisation. It also provides individuals who can chair or participate on a panel at ACT events, and who can use their influence to promote the ACT. Formed of a cross-section of individuals from treasury, stakeholder-type organisations (regulatory, banks, etc), government and professional (eg finance, education, digital), the board gives an external perspective in its advice and challenge to management, generating new ideas and some blue sky thinking. This support ultimately results in a high-performing membership body which is financially sustainable.

The current members of the Advisory Panel are:

  • Chris Jones (Chairman)
  • Philippa Foster Back CBE, Director, Institute of Business Ethics
  • Paul Boyle OBE
  • Thomas Davies, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Temporall
  • James Douglas, Vice Chairman, Deloitte LLP
  • Richard Gillingwater CBE, Chairman, SSE plc & Henderson Group plc
  • Julia Hoggett, Director of Market Oversight, FCA
  • Scarlett MccGwire
  • Mark Morris, Chief Financial Officer, Seadrill Partners LLP
  • John Plender, Leader & Feature Writer, Financial Times
  • Ian Plenderleith CBE, Chairman, BH Macro & Morgan Stanley Bank International Ltd
  • Dr Tony Watson CBE, Senior Independent Director, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Rebecca Worthington, Chief Financial Officer, Countryside Properties (UK) Ltd

For further information about our Advisory Panel members click here

Appointments, Remuneration and Audit Committee (ARAC)

ARAC is chaired by the Immediate Past President and consists of the President and up to three other non-Officer members of Council. In addition there may be up to three non-Council members. ARAC members are appointed by Council with at least one member being a qualified accountant. It meets four times a year and more frequently as required; at least once a year ARAC meets with the auditors without members of the executive team present.

The current members of ARAC are:

  • Yann Umbricht (Chair), Partner, PwC
  • Ian Chisholm, Vice President, Corporate Finance, Group Treasury, BHP Billiton
  • Fiona Crisp, Treasury Risk Leader, Huawei
  • Agnes Favillier
  • Peter Goshawk
  • Stevan Rolls, Partner, Global Talent, Deloitte
  • David Swann
  • Laura Worboyes, Head of Investment Operations, Amlin Investment Management Ltd

You can download the ARAC Terms of Reference and the ARAC Control Schedule (Appendix A).

The Senior Leadership Team

  • Caroline Stockmann, Chief Executive
  • Sarah Boyce, Associate Policy & Technical Director
  • Melissa Brittain, Head of HR & Facilities
  • Natalie Eggins, Director of Learning
  • Janet Legge, Director of Awarding Body
  • Denis Murphy, Commercial Director
  • Sarah Netherway, Director of Global Events
  • Michelle Price, Associate Policy & Technical Director
  • Joy Saunders, Director of Finance
  • Sharon Newell, Director of Marketing & Communications
  • Ria Robinson, Director of Membership & Governance

Regional Groups

There are a number of regional groups in the UK and other countries. Through regular meetings, they provide support to members, students and other interested parties. Each group is run by one or more members - Regional Ambassadors.

Be the first to hear of treasury news, regulatory change, plus receive discounts on ACT event tickets and more..

Join ACT networks

Visit the ACT blog site


Please wait....