Technical Guidance and Comment

Influencing and Informing

As the chartered body for treasury we work hard on a number of fronts – policy submissions and consultations, technical updates, and interactions with regulators and legislators to address issues for treasury practitioners and help improve professional standards in the financial sector.


We represent the position of the treasury profession to governments, regulators and policy makers and provide the real economy perspective.

We monitor developments in regulation, market evolution, technology and the economy which impact on treasury activity and provide informed and unbiased technical advice.

We publish a range of member-only technical updates, guidance and briefing notes on key issues impacting treasury practice.

Existing members can log-in to view these technical resources in the membership area

Find out how you can access these resources and many other benefits and become an ACT member.

Further resources are available through the Treasurer's Wiki.

We are recruiting!

If you are a self-starter who enjoys intellectual challenge and debate and is flexible to adapt to the challenges of the day, we have an exciting opportunity to be part of a team dedicated to embedding the highest standards of professionalism and integrity in the treasury world and acting as its leading advocate. Find out more here.


The ACT has published a number of articles and guides to help treasurers and their businesses with the practical issues they now face over Brexit.


The ACT has a range of useful resources covering the reform/replacement of LIBOR for ACT members and treasury practitioners.

Technical news

Useful updates and developments for those in the treasury function.

Codes of Conduct

The ACT has contributed to the development of two important codes of conduct in the financial markets that were launched in April/May 2017.

Treasury checklist - 20 issues

Written with business leaders in mind, the 20 issues briefings look at the influence of treasury on financial and business strategy and provide a useful checklist of key treasury questions you should be asking.

Policy submissions and responses

  • ACT response to the proposal to transition to SONIA
    14 Nov 2017

    The ACT responds to The Working Group on Sterling Risk-Free Reference Rates’ proposal to adopt SONIA as the Risk-Free Rate for Sterling and comments on approaches to adoption.

    Download the response....

  • ACT response to FCA Libor consultation
    23 Aug 2017 | Corporate finance | Financial management | Financial products and markets | Long term funding | Manage risks | The business context

    Comments in response to powers in relation to LIBOR contributions | Financial Conduct Authority

  • UK Payment Strategy – opportunity to get development right
    22 Sep 2016 | Cash management | Technology | Treasury operations infrastructure

    The ACT has responded to the UK Payments Systems Regulator’s Payment Strategy Forum’s Draft Strategy which seeks to identify the UK payment system’s needs, classed as “detriments”, to consider how these can be met, and to prioritise the dev...

  • ACT Responds to UK BEPS Consultation
    3 Aug 2016 | Corporate finance

    The ACT has responded to the HMRC/HMT consultation on the implementation of BEPS: Tax Deductibility of Corporate Interest Expense: consultation on detailed policy design and implementation.

    Click on the icon below to download the ACT's response.

  • Financial counterparties support EMIR single sided reporting
    15 Apr 2016 | Accounting, tax and regulation | Risk reporting | Treasury operations infrastructure

    The ACT has argued for single sided reporting (SSR) in EMIR, calling for reporting by Financial Counterparties (FCs) only.

    ISDA has led a further call for SSR amongst FCs as well as for transactions with NFCs, arguing that reporting will be simpl...

Be the first to hear of treasury news, regulatory change, plus receive discounts on ACT event tickets and more..

Join ACT networks

Visit the ACT blog site


Please wait....